2018 Convocation Awardees, Department of Computer Science

Congratulations to all of our 2018 Whiting School of Engineering Convocation and department awardees. See below for a complete listing of department and school awards and honorees:

Department Awards:

  • CS+X Award – Gianluca Silva Croso
  • Michael J.Muuss Research Award– Srihari Mohan and GiacomoTaylor
  • Most Valuable Peer Award – Joshan Bajaj
  • Outstanding Course Assistant Award – Hamima Halim
  • Outstanding Senior Award – Achinta Gopal, Christy Lee, and Marc Rosen
  • Professor Joel Dean Excellence in Teaching Award – Benjamin Langmead (faculty) and Amy Babay (student)
  • Special Service Award – Vivian Tsai and Jason Yim
  • Joseph C. Pistritto Research Fellowshp – Alaleh Azhir and Mariah Schrum


Whiting School of Engineering Awards:

  • William H. Huggins Award Excellence in Teaching Award* – Benjamin Langmead

This is one of the top three Whiting School of Engineering teaching awards.

This is the sixth time that a computer science professor was recognized with one of the top three teaching awards; past awardees were Professors Jason Eisner, Yair Amir, Peter Froehlich, Sara Minor More and Joanne Selinski.)