SPAA 2012 Call for Papers

24th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in
Algorithms and Architectures

June 25 - 27, 2012
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

SPAA defines the term ``parallel'' broadly, encompassing any computational system that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics include, but are not limited to:

Parallel and Distributed Algorithms Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
Green Computing and Power-Efficient Architectures Management of Massive Data Sets
Parallel Complexity Theory Parallel and Distributed Architectures
Multi-Core Architectures Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming Supercomputer Architecture and Computing
Transactional Memory Hardware and Software The Internet and the World Wide Web
Game Theory and Collaborative Learning Routing and Information Dissemination
Resource Management and Awareness Peer-to-Peer Systems
Mobile Ad-Hoc and Sensor Networks Robustness, Self-Stabilization and Security
Synergy of parallelism in algorithms, programming and architecture

Conference Presentation:

Regular presentations will be allotted a 25-minute talk and up to 10 pages in the proceedings. This format is intended for contributions reporting original research, submitted exclusively to this conference. Brief announcements will be allotted a 10-minute talk and a 2-page abstract (each marked as a brief announcement) in the proceedings. This format is a forum for brief communications, which may be published later in other conferences.


Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award. The program committee may decline to make this award or may split the award among multiple papers.


Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript electronically. The deadline for the electronic submission of abstracts is January 25, and the deadline for the submission of full versions of regular papers as well as brief announcements is February 1. These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted. Authors who are unable to submit electronically should contact the program chair, Maurice Herlihy, to receive instructions. Do not send electronic submissions to this email address.

Papers submitted to SPAA may not be under simultaneous consideration for a journal or any conference or workshop with published proceedings (other than as a brief announcement for a previous conference).

Paper Submission Format:
The cover page should include
  1. title,
  2. authors and affiliation,
  3. postal and e-mail address of the contact author,
  4. a brief abstract describing the content of the paper, and
  5. an indication of whether this is a regular presentation or a brief announcement
If requested by the authors, an extended abstract that is not selected for a regular presentation will also be considered for the SPAA brief announcements. Such a request will not affect the consideration of the paper for a regular presentation.

Submissions of regular presentations should include the cover page followed by an introduction understandable to a nonspecialist including motivation and previous work, and a technical exposition directed to a specialist. It should not exceed 10 printed pages on letter-size paper in 11-point font or larger (excluding the cover page, the figures and the references). More details may be supplied in a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the program committee.

A submission for the SPAA brief announcements should be no longer than 3 pages (excluding the cover page) on letter-size paper using at least 11-point font.

For authors who are not sure about the right format, a simple Latex template can be accessed here.


Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by e-mail or letter mailed on or before April 1. A camera-ready copy of each accepted abstract must be prepared according to the ACM guidelines for inclusion in the proceedings of the conference and must be received by May 1.

Program Chair
Maurice Herlihy, Brown University, USA

Program Committee
Yehuda Afek, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Chen Avin, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Petra Berenbrink, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Rezaul Chowdhury, State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA
Benjamin Doerr, MPI Saarbrücken, Germany
Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University, USA
Michael Goodrich, University of California at Irvine, USA
Martin Höfer, RWTH Aachen, Germany
Eric Koskinen, New York University, USA
Christoph Lenzen, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Yossi Lev, Oracle Labs, USA
Avi Mendelson, Intel, USA
Binoy Ravindran, Virginia Tech, USA
Boaz Patt-Shamir, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Erez Petrank, Technion, Israel
Giuseppe Persiano, University of Salerno, Italy
Peter Sanders, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Thomas Sauerwald, MPI Saarbrücken, Germany
Jukka Suomela, University of Helsinki, Finnland