23rd ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures

San Jose, California, USA
June 4 - 6, 2011

Latest news: The SPAA reception will take place at Miro's Lounge at the Crowne Plaza, 282 Almaden Blvd.

The 23rd Annual ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '11) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science. SPAA '11 is part of the 2011 Federated Computing Research Conference (FCRC 2011), June 4-11, 2011. SPAA 2011 will feature regular papers, each with a 25-minute talk, and brief announcements, each with a 10-minute talk. The SPAA brief announcements are for brief communications including work in progress or demos.

Important Dates:
  • Submission Deadlines: These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted.
  • Notification: March 9
  • Deadline for student travel grant applications: March 21
  • Camera-ready copy due: March 30

  • Early Conference Registration: TBA
  • Room Reservation: TBA

  • Further Information:

    For detailed information about SPAA, please visit http://www.cs.jhu.edu/~spaa or follow the following links. If you need a visa to attend SPAA, please send your request for a letter in support of a visa application to the ACM headquarters at supportletters@acm.org and include your name, affiliation (if this is not a university or research institution, be sure to contact the SPAA secretary first, or your request may be ignored), mailing address, and fax number. Indicate that you plan to attend SPAA (authors of regular papers, brief announcements and posters should also include the title). Click here for more information.


    SPAA 2011 is sponsored in part by generous contributions from the following organizations:

    Akamai logo           IBM Research logo

    Conference Organization:

    Program Chair
    Rajmohan Rajaraman, Northeastern University, Boston, USA

    Program Committee
    Marcos K. Aguilera (Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA)
    Susanne Albers, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany
    Anne Beniot, ENS Lyon, France
    Konstantin Busch, Louisiana State University, USA
    Shimin Chen, Intel Research, Pittsburgh, USA
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University, Canada
    Rolf Fagerberg, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
    Pierre Fraigniaud, CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France
    Tom Friedetzky, Durham University, UK
    MohammadTaghi Hajiaghayi, AT&T Research and University of Maryland, College Park, USA
    Idit Keidar, Technion, Israel
    Rohit Khandekar, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
    Hsien-Hsin S. Lee, Georgia Tech, USA
    Victor Luchangco, Sun Labs, Oracle, USA
    Gopal Pandurangan, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore and Brown University, USA
    Geppino Pucci, University of Padova, Italy
    Andrea W. Richa, Arizona State University, USA
    Christian Schindelhauer, University of Freiburg, Germany
    Sivan Toledo, Tel Aviv University, Israel
    Roger Wattenhofer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
    Jennifer Welch, Texas A&M, USA

    SPAA General Chair
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn

    SPAA Secretary
    Christian Scheideler, University of Paderborn

    SPAA Treasurer
    David Bunde, Knox College

    SPAA Publicity Chair
    Andrea W. Richa, Arizona State University

    Local Arrangements Chair
    FCRC Organizing Committee (Dean Tullsen, UCSD)

    SPAA Steering Committee
    Guy Blelloch, CMU
    David Culler, UC Berkeley
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University
    Pierre Fraigniaud, University of Paris-Sud
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Tom Leighton, MIT and Akamai Technologies
    Charles Leiserson, MIT
    Fabrizio Luccio, University of Pisa
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn
    Gary Miller, CMU and Akamai Technologies
    Burkhard Monien, University of Paderborn
    Franco Preparata, Brown University
    Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
    Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts Amherst and Colorado State University
    Paul Spirakis, CTI, Greece
    Uzi Vishkin, University of Maryland

    Questions and Comments: If you have any questions or comments, please send an email to Christian Scheideler at scheideler@upb.de.