21st ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures

Calgary, Canada
August 11 - 13, 2009

Links to the registration and hotel reservation sites are now available.
Applications for student travel support can be submitted till June 15. For more details see below.

This year, SPAA is co-located with PODC. SPAA '09 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science. SPAA '09 will feature regular papers, each with a 25-minute talk, and brief announcements, each with a 10-minute talk. The SPAA brief announcements are for brief communications including work in progress or demos.

Important Dates:

  • Submission Deadlines:
    - Regular papers: February 18, 11:59 pm IDLW (GMT-12h)
    - Brief announcements: February 23, 11:59 pm IDLW (GMT-12h)
    These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted.
  • Notification: April 22
  • Camera-ready copy due: May 28

  • Applications for student travel support: June 15
    Please apply by sending an email (with name, affiliation, role (e.g., author and/or presenter of a specific paper) and prospective expenses) to the SPAA Treasurer, David Bunde, at Notifications will be sent by June 20.

  • Early Conference Registration: July 12
  • Room Reservation Deadline: June 22

  • Further Information:

    For detailed information about SPAA, please visit or follow the following links. If you need a visa to attend SPAA, please send your request for a letter in support of a visa application to the ACM headquarters at and include your name, affiliation (if this is not a university or research institution, be sure to contact the SPAA secretary first, or your request may be ignored), mailing address, and fax number. Indicate that you plan to attend SPAA (authors of regular papers, brief announcements and posters should also include the title). Click here for more information.


    SPAA 2009 is sponsored in part by generous contributions from the following organizations:

    iCORE           PIMS
    University of Calgary           Akamai logo           Intel logo                 Sun logo

    Conference Organization:

    Program Chair
    Michael Bender, SUNY Stony Brook and Tokutek

    Program Committee
    Nikhil Bansal, IBM Watson Research Center
    Gerth Brodal, Aarhus University
    Jeremy Fineman, MIT
    Seth Gilbert, EPFL
    Rachid Guerraoui, EPFL
    Goran Konjevod, Arizona State University
    Fabian Kuhn, MIT
    Riko Jacob, Technische Universität München
    Vitus Leung, Sandia National Labs
    Victor Luchangco, Sun Microsystems Labs
    Cindy Phillips, Sandia National Labs
    Kirk Pruhs, University of Pittsburgh
    Tatiana Shpeisman, Intel Labs
    Greg Steffan, University of Toronto
    Sivan Toledo, Tel-Aviv University
    Denis Trystram, ENSIMAG
    Lisa Zhang, Bell Labs

    SPAA General Chair
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn

    SPAA Secretary
    Christian Scheideler, Technische Universität München

    SPAA Treasurer
    David Bunde, Knox College

    SPAA Publicity Chair
    Andrea W. Richa, Arizona State University

    Local Arrangements Chairs
    Petra Berenbrink, Simon Fraser University
    Lisa Higham, University of Calgary
    Philipp Woelfel, University of Calgary

    SPAA Steering Committee
    Guy Blelloch, CMU
    David Culler, UC Berkeley
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University
    Pierre Fraigniaud, University of Paris-Sud
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Tom Leighton, MIT and Akamai Technologies
    Charles Leiserson, MIT
    Fabrizio Luccio, University of Pisa
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn
    Gary Miller, CMU and Akamai Technologies
    Burkhard Monien, University of Paderborn
    Franco Preparata, Brown University
    Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
    Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts
    Paul Spirakis, CTI, Greece
    Uzi Vishkin, University of Maryland

    Questions and Comments: If you have any questions or comments, please send an email to Christian Scheideler at