18th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures

Cambridge, MA, USA
July 30 - August 2, 2006

The 18th Annual ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '06) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

The SPAA Symposium was called the ACM Symposium on Parallel Algorithms and Architectures from 1989 to 2002. The new name reflects the expanded scope of the conference as detailed below.

SPAA '06 will feature regular papers, each with a 25-minute talk, and brief announcements, each with a 10-minute talk. The SPAA brief announcements are for brief communications including work in progress or demos.

Expanded and Revitalized Scope:

In a tradition starting in 2001, SPAA defines "parallel" very broadly to encompass any computational system, or model, that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. As a consequence, contributed papers are sought in ALL areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, and of related fields for SPAA 2006. This includes traditional parallel and distributed algorithms and architectures, plus new aspects including the internet, the web, peer-to-peer networks, sensor networks, quantum and DNA computing, etc.

A renaissance of parallel computing research is on the horizon since: (i) chip multi-cores are the wave of the future for all major hardware vendors, (ii) since 2003 clock frequency of CPUs is hardly advancing any more, (iii) the 6-decade quest for an easy-to-program parallel architecture paradigm is yet to provide a competitive alternative to the serial paradigm. Contributed papers on algorithmics, software and/or hardware that address this emerging renaissance are particularly welcome for SPAA 2006.

Important Dates:
  • Submission Deadlines:
    - Regular papers: March 7
    - Brief announcements: March 20
    These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted.

  • Notification: May 15

  • Camera-ready copy due: June 1.

  • Early Conference Registration: July 7
  • Room Reservation Deadline: July 4

  • Further Information:

    For detailed information about SPAA, please visit or follow the following links. If you need a visa to attend SPAA, please send your request for a letter in support of a visa application to Stephanie Smith ( at ACM headquarters, and include your name, mailing address, and fax number. Indicate that you plan to attend SPAA (authors of papers and brief announcements should also include the title). Click here for more information.


    SPAA 2006 is sponsored in part by generous contributions from the following organizations:

    Akamai logo           Intel logo                 Sun logo                 Google logo

    Conference Organization:

    Program Chair
    Uzi Vishkin, University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS)

    Program Committee
    Michael Bender, SUNY Stony Brook
    Babak Falsafi, Carnegie Mellon U.
    Anja Feldmann, TU Munich
    Ashish Goel, Stanford U.
    Robert Kleinberg, U.C. Berkeley and Cornell U.
    Elias Koutsoupias, U. of Athens
    Geoff Lowney, Intel
    Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon U.
    Jaime Moreno, IBM
    Vijaya Ramachandran, U. Texas, Austin
    John Reif, Duke U.
    Christian Scheideler, TU Munich
    Baruch Schieber, IBM
    Nir Shavit, Tel Aviv U.
    Mary Vernon, U. Wisconsin
    Roger Wattenhofer, ETH Zurich
    Katherine Yelick, U.C. Berkeley and LBNL

    SPAA Local Arrangements Chairs
    Bradley Kuszmaul, MIT
    Charles Leiserson, MIT

    SPAA General Chair
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research

    SPAA Secretary
    Christian Scheideler, Technical University of Munich

    SPAA Treasurer
    Rajmohan Rajaraman, Northeastern University
    SPAA Publicity Chair
    Michael Bender, SUNY Stony Brook

    SPAA Steering Committee
    Guy Blelloch, CMU
    Thomas H. Cormen, Dartmouth
    David Culler, UC Berkeley
    Frank Dehne, Carleton U.
    Pierre Fraigniaud, U. Paris-Sud
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Tom Leighton, MIT and Akamai Technologies
    Charles Leiserson, MIT
    Fabrizio Luccio, U. Pisa
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, U. Paderborn
    Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon U. and Akamai Technologies
    Burkhard Monien, U. Paderborn
    Franco Preparata, Brown U.
    Vijaya Ramachandran, U. Texas, Austin
    Arnold Rosenberg, U. Massachusetts
    Paul Spirakis, CTI, Greece
    Uzi Vishkin, U. Maryland

    Questions and Comments: If you have any questions or comments, please send an email to