CALL FOR PAPERS

23rd ACM Symposium on PARALLELISM IN ALGORITHMS AND ARCHITECTURES (SPAA)

San José, California, USA June 4-6, 2011

http://www.spaa-conference.org

(Part of the 2011 Federated Computing Research Conference (FCRC 2011))

SCOPE: Contributed papers are sought in *all* areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, encompassing any computational system that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Parallel and Distributed Algorithms
- Green Computing & Power-Efficient Architectures
- Parallel Complexity Theory
- Multi-Core Architectures
- Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming
- Transactional Memory Hardware and Software
- Game Theory and Collaborative Learning
- Resource Management and Awareness
- Mobile, Ad-Hoc, and Sensor Networks

- Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
- Management of Massive Data Sets
- Parallel and Distributed Architectures
- Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
- Supercomputer Architecture and Computing
- The Internet and the World Wide Web
- Routing and Information Dissemination
- Peer-to-Peer Systems
- Robustness, Self-Stabilization, and Security
- Synergy of parallelism in algorithms, programming and architecture

CONFERENCE PRESENTATION:

Regular presentations will be allotted a 25-minute talk and up to 10 pages in the proceedings. This format is intended for contributions reporting original research, submitted exclusively to this conference.

Brief announcements will be allotted a 10-minute talk and a two-page abstract in the proceedings. This format is a forum for brief communications, which may be published later in other conferences.

Every regular paper is eligible for the **best paper award**. The program committee may decline to make this award or may split the award among multiple papers.

SUBMISSIONS: Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript electronically. To submit electronically, visit http://www.spaa-conference.org for instructions. This is the preferred method of submission. Authors unable to submit electronically should contact the program chair Rajmohan Rajaraman at rraj@ccs.neu.edu to receive instructions.

The cover page should include (1) title, (2) authors and affiliation, (3) postal and email address of the contact author, (4) a brief abstract describing the content of the paper, and (5) an indication if this is a regular presentation or a SPAA brief announcement. If requested by the authors, an extended abstract that is not selected for a regular presentation will also be considered for the SPAA brief announcements.

Submissions for regular presentations should include an introduction understandable to a nonspecialist including motivation and previous work, and a technical exposition directed to a specialist. A submission should not exceed 10 printed pages in 11-point type or larger (excluding cover, figures, and references). More details may be supplied in a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the program committee.

A submission for *brief announcements* should be no longer than three pages (excluding the cover page) using at least 11-point font.

IMPORTANT DATES:

Submission deadlines: January 12, 2011, 11:59 p.m. EST for regular papers and January 19, 2011, 11:59 p.m. EST for brief announcements.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

Marcos K. Aguilera (Microsoft Research) Konstantin Busch (Louisiana State U.) Rolf Fagerberg (U. Southern Denmark) Mohammad Hajiaghayi (AT&T & U. Maryland) Hsien-Hsin S. Lee (Georgia Tech) Geppino Pucci (U. Padova) Sivan Toledo (Tel Aviv U.)

Susanne Albers (Humboldt U.) Shimin Chen (Intel Research) Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS) Idit Keidar (Technion) Victor Luchangco (Sun Labs, Oracle) Andrea W. Richa (Arizona State U.) Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich)

Anne Beniot (ENS Lyon) Frank Dehne (Carleton U.) Tom Friedetzky (Durham U.) Rohit Khandekar (IBM T.J. Watson) Gopal Pandurangan (NTU & Brown U.) Christian Schindelhauer (U. Freiburg) Jennifer Welch (Texas A&M)

CONFERENCE ORGANIZATION:

Conference Chair: Friedhelm Mever auf der Heide (U. of Paderborn)

Program Chair: Rajmohan Rajaraman (Northeastern U.) Treasurer: David Bunde (Knox College)

Publicity Chair: Andrea Richa (Arizona State U.)

Local Arrangements: FCRC Organizing Committee

(Dean Tullsen, UCSD)

Secretary: Christian Scheideler (U. Paderborn)