## CALL FOR PAPERS

## Twentieth Annual ACM Symposium on PARALLELISM IN ALGORITHMS AND ARCHITECTURES (SPAA) June 14 – 16, 2008, Munich, Germany

http://www.spaa-conference.org

**SCOPE:** This year we will celebrate 20 years of SPAA with a series of invited talks, a special track, and a poster session. Contributed papers are sought in *all* areas of parallel algorithms and architectures. SPAA defines the term "parallel" broadly, encompassing any computational system that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics include, but are not limited to:

- Parallel and Distributed Algorithms and Applications
- Parallel Complexity Theory
- Multi-Core Architectures
- Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming
- Transactional Memory Hardware and Software
- Game Theory and Collaborative Learning
- Resource Management and Awareness
- Mobile Ad-Hoc and Sensor Networks

- Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
- Parallel and Distributed Architectures
- Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
- Supercomputer Architecture and Computing
- The Internet and the World Wide Web
- Routing and Information Dissemination
- Peer-to-Peer Systems
- Robustness, Self-Stabilization and Security

**SPECIAL TRACK:** In addition to the above, papers are solicited for a special track on *Hardware And Software Techniques For Multicore Machines*.

**CONFERENCE PRESENTATION:** Regular presentations will be allotted a 20-minute talk and up to 10 pages in the proceedings. This format is intended for contributions reporting original research, submitted exclusively to this conference. Brief announcements will be allotted a 10-minute talk and a 2-page abstract in the proceedings. This format is a forum for brief communications, which may be published later in other conferences. Posters will be presented in two special poster sessions and will be allotted a 1-page abstract in the proceedings. This format is another forum for brief communications, which may be published later in other conferences.

The best regular paper will be given a **best paper award**.

**SUBMISSIONS:** Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript electronically. To submit electronically, visit http://www.spaa-conference.org/submission.html for instructions. *This is the preferred method of submission*. Authors unable to submit electronically should contact the program chair Nir Shavit at shanir@cs.tau.ac.il to receive instructions.

The cover page should include (1) title, (2) authors and affiliation, (3) postal and email address of the contact author, (4) a brief abstract describing the content of the paper, and (5) an indication if this is a regular presentation, regular presentation for special track, a brief announcement, or a poster. If requested by the authors, an extended abstract that is not selected for a regular presentation will also be considered for the SPAA brief announcements and the poster session. Such a request will not affect the consideration of the paper for a regular presentation. Submissions for *regular presentations* including ones for the special track should not exceed 10 printed pages in 11-point type or larger (excluding cover, figures, and references). More details may be supplied in a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the program committee. A submission for *brief announcements* or *poster session* should be no longer than 3 pages (excluding cover).

IMPORTANT DATES: Submission deadlines: January 27th, 2008, 23:59 EST for regular papers and February 1st, 2008, 23:59 EST for brief announcements and posters. Notification: March 22th, 2008. Camera-ready copy due: April 10th, 2008.

## **PROGRAM COMMITTEE:**

Susanne Albers (Freiburg)	Faith Ellen (Toronto)	Panagiota Fatourou (Ioannina)
Rolf Fagerberg (U. of Southern Denmark)	Alexandra Fedorova (Simon Fraser)	Pascal Felber (Neuchatel)
Christof Fetzer (TU Dresden)	Danny Hendler (Ben Gurion)	Jim Larus (Microsoft)
Emmanuelle Lebhar (CNRS & U. Paris VII)	Keith Lowery (AMD)	Michael Mitzenmacher (Harvard)
Andrea Pietracaprina (Padova)	Rajmohan Rajaraman (Northeastern)	Ravi Rajwar (Intel)
Larry Rudolph (MIT)	Vivek Sarkar (Rice)	Nir Shavit (Tel-Aviv and Sun)
Assaf Schuster (Technion)		

## CONFERENCE ORGANIZATION:

Conference Chair: Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, U. of Paderborn Program Chair: Nir Shavit, Tel Aviv U. and Sun Labs Treasurer: Rajmohan Rajaraman, Northeastern U. Local Arrangements Chair: Christian Scheideler, TU Munich Secretary: Christian Scheideler, TU Munich Special Track Chair: Jim Larus, Microsoft Publicity Chair: Andrea Richa, ASU